Meaningful Use (MU)

Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Program (Meaningful Use)



The performance period for Program Year 2016 is now closed. 

Medicare MU Attestation Deadline:  February 28, 2017

Medicaid MU Attestation Deadline: May 1, 2017

Effective Monday, Feb. 13, 2017, Indiana Medicaid AIU and MU submissions will resume. All EPs and hospitals will have until the MU attestation deadline of May 1, 2017, to submit all program year 2016* AIU and MU applications via the Medical Assistance Provider Incentive Repository (MAPIR) system.

If you are attesting for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, you must register in the new Indiana CoreMMIS portal. Registration is currently open, and you may begin by clicking the “Register Now” link that is found in the login box, on the left side of the page. If you are unsure whether you need to attest, or you need help preparing for attestation or registering at the CoreMMIS site, contact PHA’s Meaningful Use Help Desk.

Note: Program year 2016 is the last year in which an eligible professional can begin participating in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. 


What You Need to Know for Program Year 2017 (PY2017)

EPs, EHs, and CAHs that directly participate in the Indiana Medicaid EHR Incentive Program will continue to attest to the objective/measure requirements as finalized in the Modified Stage 2 final rule:

  • EHR Reporting Period: The EHR reporting period must be completed within January 1-December 31 of calendar year 2017.
    • All participants will attest to a continuous 90-day reporting period within the calendar year. 
  • Objectives and Measures: All participants are required to use 2014 Edition certified EHR technology (CEHRT)* and attest to a single set of objectives and measures, which replaces the core/menu structure from previous program years.
    • EPs have a single set of ten (10) objectives.
    • EH/CAHs have a single set of nine (9) objectives. 

*In 2017, participants may potentially attest to Stage 3 requirements if they use EHR technology certified to 2015 Edition standards, or a combination of EHR technology certified to 2015 Edition and 2014 Edition (if the combination of certified technologies would not prohibit them from meeting Stage 3 requirements.  In 2018, all providers will be required to participate in Stage 3 through the use of 2015 Edition CEHRT.

For more information and additional resources, visit the CMS 2017 EHR Program Requirements page at

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 496-1911

© 2014 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue Technical Assistance Program